An official website of the United States government

Presidential Proclamation to Mitigate Risks Posed by COVID-19
March 13, 2020

President Trump announced on March 11, 2020, an expansion of travel restrictions to the United States from within Schengen Area countries due to increased concerns about the spread of the coronavirus, effective March 13 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern time.

Please note that this Presidential Proclamation does NOT apply to U.S. citizens. 

U.S. citizens seeking to return to the United States from any of the 26 Schengen Area countries impacted by the Presidential Proclamation should follow DHS and CDC guidance upon their arrival in the United States.  The 26 Schengen Area countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

U.S. citizens with a consular appointment who are experiencing flu-like symptoms or believe they may have been exposed to the novel coronavirus are requested to reschedule their appointments by at least 14 days later.  Please note that the Embassy reserves the right to deny entry to any visitor exhibiting signs of possible illness.

ACS customers may cancel and reschedule their appointments at https://evisaforms.state.gov/Instructions/ACSSchedulingSystem.asp.  For questions about rescheduling a pending appointment, please send an email to StkACSinfo@state.gov for specific guidance.

More Information: